Zero to Hero: Day 22

Jumping around a little today because today’s assignment was to do a blogging event, and I wanted to do Friday Fiction.

Nikki Young Writes

I found this lovely little bit of a story prompt the other day, hunting around for something else. I had forgotten about it, but it would be a perfect addition to Asylum. So, I polished it up a bit, made some notes for how to tie it in, and viola! Another Asylum/Havenverse introduction.

 

Three years ago, I met the love of my life.

Three months ago, I met her Beast.

My girlfriend is a shapeshifter, of the feline persuasion. Runs a yarn store by day, bats around balls of yarn by night. No, not just on the Full Moon, though she does beg to be let outside when it is. The better to see you with, I suppose. No wait, that was the Big Bad Wolf. Never confuse shifters with werewolves, unless you’ve got a few hours to spare for a lecture on all the differences. I’ve heard it enough times I could probably quote it to you.

Not that any of this really makes any sense to me yet. I get it, intellectually, but Cat says you can’t really understand it til you’ve been there.

Three days from now, I will.

We’re still not sure how it happened. Feline therianthropy is supposed to be one of the hardest strains to catch. Yup, you guessed it, the easiest is Lupine. Werewolves. But we don’t have a lot of dealings with the local pack – if anything, we’d get crap from the local hyeans, since we’re on their side of town. But they don’t care too much for yarn.

I guess I should get used to the idea of playing with it.

So far, I’ve been coping by making off-colored jokes about cat-scratch fever. Cat says its not funny, but I see the corners of her mouth twitch as she tries not to laugh.

I also see the worry knitting her eyebrows together when she thinks I’m not looking.

I have no idea what to expect, but I know she’ll be there with me, every step of the way. In all of her fluffy house cat glory.

Cat has two forms, which is supposed to be rare, but I wouldn’t know. Her true animal form is a snowy lynx, but when she was younger her parents taught her how to ask it to take the form of a house cat.

Yeah, that all kinda goes above my head too.

But she says it’ll make sense in time, and I believe her. I have to believe her. Three months ago, she turned my world upside down by coming to bed with her fur on. Man, that had been a bad night. We’re lucky Drake didn’t catch her – but we don’t talk about that right now. We’ve got enough on our plate.

In three days, she’s taking me out to her parents’ farm over the river. We’ll leave the shop with her assistant, pack up, and introduce me to my inner kitty cat.

Yeah, piece of cake.

Or bowl of cream. Whatever.

 

8 thoughts on “Zero to Hero: Day 22

    • Thank you! I have no idea how old the spark was, or where I was going with it, but I’m excited to see it fit in to Asylum.

      There is, cannonly speaking, a feline shifter who runs a yarn store just off of Goode St. in whatever town this all takes place in. But the original story snippets was written years before we found Asylum. Fun coincidence, no?

      Like

  1. Pingback: Zero to Hero: Day 23- Follow up | Raevenly Writes

Leave a comment