Asylum Crossroads

There comes a point in every author’s life where they have to put themselves out there.

There comes a point in every novel, where you have to decide if it’s ready, or keep editing. Because they’re never done, everything could be endlessly tweaked and improved upon forever.

But just because I was ready, didn’t mean Asylum was ready.

What I’m releasing over on In Search of Asylum is a draft, and I’ve always known it was. But I didn’t know how larval it really was until it started to pupate. …Weird sciency metaphors aside, I jumped the gun with Asylum, and now I don’t know what to do with it.

It’s not my best foot, and I know it’s not. I love this version, but I loved the first draft, too. Neither one of them tells the “true” story.

We’ve learned a lot writing Asylum v2. We’ll learn a lot writing Asylum v3, no doubt. Already, I can see an improvement in the skills, both word smithing and story telling. It’s getting better, with each and every pass.

But it’s already out there, sitting naked and gangly for the world to see.

I haven’t announced anything over on In Search, and honestly, I’m not announcing here. Because I still don’t know what to do. I’m just thinking out loud.

I still don’t know what my ultimate goals are for Asylum. I don’t know if I want to see it trad published, keep it a hot online mess, keep it to myself as something I just do for fun with my girlfriend. I just don’t know. And I don’t know what to do with what I’ve already done.

I don’t regret doing it. I needed to move forward as an author, and posting Asylum to the web was the only thing keeping me fired up about the project. But now I have some tough choices to think about.

