Taking this seriously, results

So, it’s been about a month since I decided to start logging my writing hours, and here’s what I’ve found:

  • In a good week, I can put in 10-12 hours of work on drafting, editing/re-writing, blog posts/formatting, and promotion work.
  • Rougher weeks merit 1-2 hours at best, tons of guilt I can’t shake at worst. Heavier on the web stuff over actually writing/editing.
  • Average weeks, I hit 3-5 hours all together, hitting 500-1k words, unless I have a strangely good writing day.
  • None of this counts time spent daydreaming, world building, and otherwise mentally wandering Asylum.

So yeah. I suck XD

That’s harsh, but that’s how it feels. I spend so much of my time falling asleep/waking up due to working nights. It’s hard to write when you’re groggy, and it’s hard not to be groggy when you sleep twice a day. So the real thing I’ve learned is that I’ve got to do something about my sleep schedule. No idea how yet, but there it is. If I want to take this seriously, something’s gotta give.

