Sort of NaNo: Day 5

I never can seem to resist the first week of NaNoWriMo. I know I’m too busy. I know Nov/Dec are the BUSIEST baking months of the year. But I love all the writer-centric energy, and I found a lovely prompt a day list like #Inktober, but for writing, and since I’m on a prompt a day habit anyways, might as well get some writing done, right? I don’t have a story in mind, but I’m gonna unofficially track my word count, just to see what I get up to these days. A funsy NaNo, cause I can’t stand to be left out apparently. 😛 So here’s my prompts, feel free to follow along/use these as jumpstarts for slow days. My Tumblr is also good for inspiration and/or reminders to go write.

Today’s entry is …weird. Maleo isn’t my character, and I’m not sure I have him right, but I’ve been wanting to put more Maleo into the upcoming chapters of Asylum, and I figured this was a good place to start.

In Lust, Day 4: 416 words/November Total: 2186  words

Maleo couldn’t say what it was exactly about her that drew his attention. The fiery red curls, flying in the stage light, the perfect, creamy skin peeking out here and there with every shimmy– No, it was the innocence, the pure joyous laughter in her eyes as she danced. This angel had no idea she was beautiful, didn’t know what each twist of her hip and shake of her shoulders did to him. Doubtless did to every other hot-blooded male in the place. And a few of the females, if the ebony princess dancing beside her was any indication.She was pretty enough in her own right, and if Mal was reading their signs right, he could well imagine himself in the middle of their fire and coals embrace. But even as the thought riled him, it sickened him. Such a gentle girl, touched by such deviance…

Mal’s feathers ruffled as a shudder passed through him, and he smoothed a hand over his hair quickly. Must keep it cool, this wasn’t the place for feathers. He’d gotten lazy in his habits, living at the compound. Mal had a sudden flash of hot red fur and amber eyes–his sweet tender angel was undoubtedly a fox. A sly and wild fox, just waiting for someone to show her the way into the woods–and who in this den of sin wouldn’t just love to be the one. Maybe it was even too late…
The curtain dropped, leaving Mal blinking into the darkness.Safely unseen, he raised and resettled his feathers, blowing out a tense breath to resettle his soul. He hadn’t understood before, when this “Asylum” was all just talk, just why Xavier wanted to protect them. But if this Nica was anything like her students…
He would stay. Mal got up between one act and the next, ignoring the two clowns distracting the audience before the still lowered curtain. He went straight to the bar, nodding to the behemoth of a man tending it. He was so dark, only the whites of his eyes and his teeth seemed to show in the dimness. Maleo didn’t flinch, just asked to speak to the owner of the club, on behalf of Master Xavier, head of the Riverside Nest.
Kain raised an eyebrow, but it too was lost in the darkness. He called for Dev, against his better judgement. This bird was trouble, but at least he would be a known trouble. Better that than wondering what “master” was up to.

 

2 thoughts on “Sort of NaNo: Day 5

  1. Wow! What a great peek into Mal’s very messed up mind and dangerous attraction he has to her. I love how he thinks of her as this “angel”, elevating her to a dangerous level that mere mortals can’t reach. It is a peek into the mind of a stalker. Very creepy and effective. I also love the peeks at Kain and the mention of Xavier. Treats all around! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

