If we were having coffee: Aug 30

ย If we were having coffee this weekend, I’d take some time to fill you in on how the week’s gone, the highs and lows, and reassure you that it’s been mostly highs. A burden shared is a burden halved, and my internet community has really been there for me. So the first thing I’d do is probably give you a big hug and a big thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚

I finally managed to do a yoga set day before yesterday. I’d been seriously upset at how much flexibility I’d lost, but it’s coming back with surprising speed. Girlfriend and I had a lovely morning stretch together before our usual morning write (Which has taken an “unproductive” but incredibly fun turn. I finally gave in to my “newest” character, and let him go on an adventure with Kis. Fun times.).

I’m hitting the weird stage where I feel bad for making everyone feel bad, and want to curl back up inside my shell. I feel selfish telling people when I’m down, like, I don’t want to be that raincloud, but I feel like my visibility campaign is making a huge difference. Making myself acknowledge the bad moments makes them easier to move through, and then past.

I also got a new mattress topper, so hopefully the hours laying there not sleeping are behind me. Exhaustion + Depression = More than I feel like I can tackle.

Also, randomly, if we were having coffee, I’d probably try to foist a cucumber off on you. My little vine has REALLY produced this year. My tomatoes and peppers have done alright, but no where near what the cuke has. Holy mole. I need to make tzatziki or something. Tea sandwiches? Maybe, if we were having coffee, I’d insist on drinking it out of tiny cups and serve tiny sandwiches and cakes and make you hold your pinkie up.

Cause why not? ๐Ÿ™‚

8 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: Aug 30

  1. *Hugs* I’m totally in for cucumber sandwiches (pinkies out and all!)
    Glad you’re getting some writing in.. all my editing and writing has been at a serious standstill, but I’m giving myself the permission to stay there a little longer because it seems to be what I need right now. Soon I’ll jump back in, hopefully rediscovering some of the energy that’s been hiding away.

    Like

  2. Don’t feel bad for seeking/accepting help. It’s what you need. Would you feel bad for seeking medicine? Would you feel bad for seeking a roof over your head? Don’t feel bad or like you are being selfish. You are just trying to take of what you need. I’m sure you will be there for the next one that needs encouragement or support!

    Keep writing! It has often been my salvation from depression, isolation, and other things!

    Like

  3. Tzatziki! Oh, that sounds good.

    Sorry to hear that you’re still feeling the depression, but glad that you’re talking about it. It can be a difficult thing to discuss, and the silence can make it more oppressive. Hope the yoga is helping, too!!

    Like

  4. Don’t feel bad for seeking help and guidance when you were depressed! Shame is something that needs to be done away with. It will just burden your soul. Know that you did the right thing and I’m glad that you know that you have such support! Tell your shame to go take a hike and then imagine Kain beating it up or chaining it down in his dungeon or doing whatever Kain does with bad emotions. :-p (Probably uses them on Seth. Ohh.)

    EclecticAlli took the words right out of my mouth with cucumber sandwiches! May I join both of you? I do love cucumber sandwiches. Maybe we can have lemonade to go with them? (After the tea, of course.) ๐Ÿ™‚

    Morning writing. The best kind of writing in my opinion. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. Thanks everyone. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I know it sounds crazy, but I am actually the sort of person who would feel bad asking for medicine or a roof, if I felt that doing so might somehow take from someone else. Right now, I feel like happiness is a finite resource. I can’t imagine having it just bounce back. So it makes me reluctant to drag anyone else. I understand that I still need to reach out, it’s just hard. I don’t want to hurt anyone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

