Did you know? Rain edition

A long time beta reader of mine suggested I share some tidbits with you all. I’m horrible about getting sidetracked while doing live beta sessions, where gems like this tend to come out. But some of these bits are things that would never come up in the writing, so here they are.

  • Rain, I have come to discover, is a sort of mental recycling of the MC of a comic I was working on back in undergrad. Her name was also Brooke (though spelled Brykke, cause I was still convinced terrible names were wonderful ideas back then) and she actually went to her version of White Prince Academy (which I realize will make no sense to future readers, unless WP gets added back in to later books somehow).
  • Rain came into being as a challenge from one of Cait’s characters. He asked me to go dancing/barhopping with him, and he got Rain. Joke’s on you dude.
  • Rain is the only character (so far) that I have constructed, start to finish (probably why I hate her). Everyone else comes to me in some stages of their own person, though uncovering them can be a bit like archaeological discovery. With Rain, I’ve had to build her up, tear her down, and logic her out piece by piece, teaching me that 1) I am terrible at character design and 2) I am a lazy writer. I much prefer it when my only job is to report, not actively create.
  • I know who Rain’s father is (but I’m not telling :P)

So who would you all like to hear from next?

 

2 thoughts on “Did you know? Rain edition

  1. Aw, you have to tell who Rain’s father is! No fair!! :-p

    I hope that someday you get to like Rain but you may always feel ambiguous about her (or hate her.) I think that it’s very sad when authors hate their characters. Sir Aurthur Conan Doyle ended up hating Sherlock Holmes. Agatha Cristie ended up hating her detective character, too, so you are like many authors before you. Maybe Rain will come up with some new adventures and surprise you. After all, one of my characters that I invented decided to do a complete 180 (with a new husband, family, etc.) which really surprised me when I started writing her after taking a break for a few years. Rain may do the same thing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Who’s next?
    -Marie and Nat.

    -Kain.

    -Tidbits about Asylum? How it came to be, what it looks like? Where it is in relation to your world?

    Like

Leave a Reply

