Did you know? Rook edition

A long time beta reader of mine suggested I share some tidbits with you all. I’m horrible about getting sidetracked while doing live beta sessions, where gems like this tend to come out. But some of these bits are things that would never come up in the writing, so here they are.

Rook is one of my oldest characters, and a bit of a prima donna, so of course he had to take his turn in the spotlight.

  •  Rook is the first character we ever met from Asylum, though we didn’t know that at the time. I kind of suspect he went out and found Asylum and brought it back to us. There was a chunk of time (a few years or so, maybe 4 or 5 even) where Rook just disappeared. Complete radio silence. When he came back, Asylum followed shortly thereafter (or possibly preceded it ever so slightly. I can’t honestly recall).
  • Rook is one of the few characters I absolutely cannot control. Most of them can be reasoned with, in some way or another, but Rook refuses to be corralled. He will not accept edits, he doesn’t give a damn how little sense in makes in narrative, and I cannot, CANNOT keep him from going Meta when I write. As in, he will look deliberately “at the camera” and talk to me directly in the text, and do it in such a way that I cannot delete it without tearing the scene to shreds. I am not looking forward to editing any stories he’s in for serious use, let me tell you.they
  • Rook has a “brother”, Drake. I think they’ve evolved into separate story lines (and if you’re lucky, I can coax the shy boy out into the spotlight), so canonically speaking, they’re not related, but I believe at some point when we were first getting to know them, they were. (I believe Gryff is still Drake’s older brother in their own canon, not that that matters.)
  • Rook’s bar is “real”. As in, during part of the time that Rook was M.I.A, he built a bar in the landscape of my mind. He announced all proudly, “I built a bar!” and I looked, and beheld that there was indeed a bar where there had not been one before. It is down the block from the cafe I used to keep all my characters in, though I’m not sure that place is still open (but I can promise you, there’s still a back room full of boxes of ideas, memories, and whatnot. …and no, Az, you cannot break in and go riffling through them- Hey! Get back here! …damnit.)

So who would you all like to hear from next?

 

One thought on “Did you know? Rook edition

  1. Ah, the show off, Rook! 🙂

    As you mentioned, I believe that he found Asylum for you to work with, too since after his disappearance, he suddenly appeared with a whole new world to play in.

    I also love that you can’t control him. My characters will usually let me delete comments that I make to them or don’t ‘involve’ me when I am writing them but I love how Rook will just totally talk to “the camera” like it’s normal. The ultimate prima donna! 🙂

    We also have to meet Drake at some point! I have to wonder how different (or similar) he is to Rook! ;-p

    Who next? Maybe:

    -Tripp.

    -Rain.

    -Myles.

    -Nica.

    Like

Leave a Reply

