Did you know? Seth edition

A long time beta reader of mine suggested I share some tidbits with you all. I’m horrible about getting sidetracked while doing live beta sessions, where gems like this tend to come out. But some of these bits are things that would never come up in the writing, so here they are.


 

Oh the things I could say about Seth. Sadly, most of them are spoilers. But, I’ll do what I can.

  • Seth was the first of my characters to write his own works of …fiction? I hate to call them fiction. It’s almost like a diary, really. Anyways. He was the first to write outtakes that had nothing to do with his home cannon at all. Aside from Rook, he is probably the most Meta of my characters. (and no, I won’t ever publish any of said diary. Some things are private. :P)
  • Seth is the only of my characters to have his own trailer within my mindscape. Of course, Rook built an entire bar without telling me (and without me noticing, until he unveiled it, so there’s that).
  • For anyone who has missed this memo, Seth was never supposed to be. At all. The sarcastic voice in theeeeeen I realized I was dipping into spoiler territory (as is most anything spoken about Seth). Sorry folks. Suffice it to say that Nica stepped up and claimed him, and with Caitlin’s backing, there was little I could do but re-write him to stick.
  • Seth did something similar with his (…sister is so not the write word, but the serpent-tongue word for it would mean little to you all, so “sister” it is) “sister”, Kisma, convincing her out in the meta-space to join the Asylum crew and torment him for the rest of his days.

So who would you all like to hear from next?

Β Zig Edition

4 thoughts on “Did you know? Seth edition

  1. OhmygoshohmygoshyoudidSeth!! πŸ™‚

    And I thank Nica with Caitlin’s backing for taking Seth’s side and letting him be. I was reading a book with a secondary character I LOVED and the author killed him off. First Sirius and now him. Can my favorite characters please stay alive for the duration of a novel? Because this is getting very depressing.

    But Seth is safe. At least for now. That makes me happy. (I love how Seth just brings a trailer into your mind and is like, “Bam, mine.” You better watch out, Rain might have a whole house pop up or something into your mind randomly one day! ;-p)

    And this Kisma. Hmm. Wonder if we’ll hear from her soon. (I’m kinda protective of Seth, in case you haven’t noticed. I’m sure that my attempts at subtly are such that you have no clue how I really feel about Seth. It’s not like I talk about him at every opportunity.) I’m sure that her ‘tormenting’ him is more the ‘annoying’ kind but one can never be too careful.

    Sexy trouble maker. πŸ™‚ Please let him know I love him. I would be terribly sad if he forgot.

    Like

    • Ok, setting the record straight, cause apparently I’m the ambiguity queen.

      I never intended to “kill Seth off”. As I understood things at the beginning, Asylum started at the END of Seth’s story, rather than the beginning. Seth himself thought he was done, and ready for his happy ending. He had no idea his story was just starting, and therefore, neither did I.

      Naj was always intended to be the main character, but I should have known a serpent that shy wouldn’t stay in the limelight for long. I also should have seen that Nica would need a more … well, a lover more like Seth.

      Just like Seth needs a sister-not-sister like Kisma. Nica is the love of his life, no doubt, but she’s far too soft with him, and the cat can only put up with his crap for so long. πŸ˜›

      Like

      • Hopefully Seth is ok with not ‘getting’ his happy ending? Or I guess he has it now? :-p I’m glad that we get to read more of him, the sweetie.

        Nica and Kisma must have an interesting relationship considering that they are both put up with Seth in different ways. Still, I like that Kisma isn’t afraid to call Seth out when he needs it. πŸ™‚

        Naj is a sweetie and I love him dearly. I can get that he is shy but it sounds like Seth knows gentle ways of coaxing him out and letting him shine. πŸ™‚

        Happy New Year everyone!

        Like

Leave a Reply

