Weekly Writing Goals: November week 2

I am hardly surprised I am late this week, Thursday was my birthday. πŸ˜› I have gotten practically no writing done, but there has been sushi, grasshopper pie, and decorating for Christmas. NaNo word count is juuuuust under 15k, and I have made peace with the fact that I will most likely not hit 50k before November is over.

I should have started writing when I got excited again. Rain’s novel needs the enthusiasm that comes with NaNo, and if that means writing before Novemeber- well, I’d at least have more than 15k to show at this point, I’m sure. Probably would have started on BloodWhore as well.

The thing about NaNo is that it gives you an excuse to be a writing in a world that doesn’t always let you. It lets you justify putting off the laundry and social engagements and any other thing that might keep you from writing.

I do that anyway.

Writing is my all consuming passion, the thing I sacrifice all other gods before. I won’t play video games, I’ll refrain from just watching tv, I’ll keep from going out with friends because I’d RATHER write. Because I NEED to write.

I have the luxury of being a grown adult with a full time job and no children. I’m not in school, I’m not in an organized religion, I have the most relaxed girlfriend in the world who would rather have me write than do just about anything else. I have the luxury to let writing consume me.

I get that not everyone else does. School, kids, jobs that follow you home, partners/family that don’t “get it”, an active social life (to say nothing of the author’s own doubts)- all of these things are silenced by NaNo. Or, in my case, are not a concern. So I get that NaNo is extremely useful for some, but again, I’m coming down on the “Not for me” side of things. I’ve easily written 50k already this month on any number of other side projects, the NaNo Relief Bash and the beginnings of the second Asylum novel, to name a few. Rain’s gotten a little screen time, but I’m just not feeling that euphoric NaNo rush that I did last year with my first one. I’ve had some ideas for the editing of her first book, so I’ll keep drafting book 2 during November (just because it’s not as transformative for me as it is for some doesn’t meant I’m going to just give up on my NaNo) and see if this next round of edits doesn’t reveal a story I can actually get excited about.

And if it doesn’t, well, Asylum’s debut is right around the corner. πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Goals: November week 2

  1. I think that it is fabulous that your girlfriend is so supportive of what you do. My parents don’t understand my passion at all and are not supportive of me trying to support myself with my writing. I understand why, but it still hurts sometimes. To have and extremely supportive environment and friends who understand, “Sorry, I can’t hang out today! A couple chapters just came to me!” is really great.

    For NaNo, I’ve done it ‘unofficially’ and never finished. The only reason why I already am is because of some very lucky circumstances. (And knowing that later in the month I would have virtually no time to do it) but it’s still hard. I still have so much to finish (none of the huge plot lines have been answered, for example, they took 50,000 just to introduce) and now that I don’t have that 50,000 word count to maintain, I’m actually slowing down. And it’s tough because I want to keep writing but now my life is getting in the way and I actually think of other things that I *could* be doing, the drive is gone. So, for me, it’s actually hard for me to keep up the manic pace that got me to 50,000 words because my brain knows that it achieved the goal so I think that it’s like, “Story? Who cares?” But I love writing! I’m just not really feeling it anymore. Blah.

    Yes, with the side projects and editing, you have definitely got over 50,000 words under your belt, so you should feel very proud. πŸ™‚

    And Asylum! Yes! All the Asylum. (And Seth. πŸ™‚ )

    *Hugs* Don’t feel down. You are doing fantastic. It’s so easy to think, “I should have done this” or “If I started on that story, I could hit 50 K” but the hard part is, we don’t know what we’re in for until we start. It’s a complete blank slate. To even make it to 15 K is fantastic and you should be very proud of yourself. And if it doesn’t work? Asylum will shake things up. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Its more a comment on my writing style than anything, i think. Im getting to know myself, and what does and doesnt work for me.

      Ive been writing seriously for about 18 months now. Some months, I take breaks. Some months, I bang out 50 to 150k without even realzing it.

      The point is, for me, the novels will always be there. The time to write will always be there. The thing that comes and goes is the -fire-, so im learning to strike when the iron is hot, as it were.

      I really respect NaNo for what it is, and am ecstatic to see what its done for others. And again, as October was drawing to a close, I still got really excited about NaNo. So i just need to learn how to make that fire work for me.

      Ive never been really good at playing by the rules anyways. πŸ˜›

      Like

  2. It’s okay that you’re not going to hit 50K. I probably won’t either, but my reasons are different. Happity Birfday! πŸ˜‰ You’ll finish Rain. I have every faith in that. You’ll gain your excitement back, and you’ll fly through the words in no time. Watch!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, thank you!

      It is surprisingly stupid how hard it is for me to write this poor girl’s story. I love exploring the world, I love her supporting chatacters, I just hate working on her story soooo much sometimes. πŸ˜›

      But I love editing it. How much sense does that make?

      Like

  3. There have been a few years where I decided that ANYTHING I wrote would count for NaNo — be it school papers, a story fragment, or a newsletter article. That year I was working (in a church..so, you know, part time means fulltime+), in grad school, and in a relationship (with someone who, luckily “gets it”… I don’t think I could be with anyone who doesn’t)… so I HAD to let myself do that. The whole point is to write…write write write — I think the reason that I’m having such easy success in NaNo this year (at least, so far) is because that’s what I’m doing anyhow. This month I’m just focusing the energy.
    But, yeah… next time just get moving on it when you’re up for it. Some people only really put their writing first during November, others of us have it front and center year round — meaning NaNo can give a little boost of community, or a added dash to a project, but isn’t hugely different from the other 11 months. πŸ™‚
    HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY WEEKEND, by the way! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • That. That sentiment exactly.

      I didnt think moving to the nightshift would take this much getting used to. As GM of a store that was only closed 5 to 7 hours a day, I was already used to sleeping when I could/having that sleep interruted/not having a regular biorhythm. But this… Something about this is so different, and its still kickin my butt.

      But when I get my equilibrium back, those writing dukes are definitely fired up year round. I would be powerfully curious to go back and see my word count average this year by month- not hubris, of course, but reaearch. πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

