NaNo Relief Drunken Character Bash

So, on the one hand, I am MONDO tired. NaNoing on night shift days is probably going to be right out, like I figured going into this. Today might be the exception rather than the rule- it was EXTRA stupid- but I’m not going to bank on having those days towards my word count. They’re bonus days. Any writing I get done on them counts for double points, in my book.

BUT! I don’t need too much coherency to put this mad scheme I hatched with EclecticAlli into action! May I present to you, the first annual

NaNo Relief Bash!

This year’s bash is being hosted by yours truly, with the help of my lovely co-host, Rook! Some of you may know Rook from last year’s NaNo, but none of you know Rook like you’re about to. πŸ™‚ Rook is the proprietor of a lovely little dive-bar of the same name, and Rook’s bar is a regular haunt of some of your favorite Asylum/Havenverse denizens, such as Zig and Chris, and many of the Asylum Dancers. As HUGE fans of writerly types (Gee, I wonder why? :P), the whole gang is coming together to throw a party for all of you!

Rook is pleased to announce that every Monday during the month of November, he is turning over his regularly scheduled karaoke night to all you NaNos out there for a chance to kick back and unwind after a hard week’s work. Anyone and everyone is welcome, from authors to current MCs to characters from stories long gone past! Come on down, grab a drink, pull up a chair and let loose!

You’re Invited!

What: Character-oke nights with Rook and Raevenly

Where: Rook’s bar (and the blogosphere at large)

When: Every Monday in November!

Who: Any character who needs to unwind, including authors! This is your chance to do some quirky, no pressure writing to unwind, get over a road block, get the juices flowing or just play around!

Who, part 2*: As host, I’ll be bringing any and all characters to the bar that I can get a hold of. Most active right now are those from Rain’s story, or any of the Asylum Dancers, but if you know of someone you’d like to chat with, drop me a line and I’ll see if I can find them running around in here somewhere…

How: Always a good question. The short answer is: any way you want! Write your own blog post and ping back to this one, contact me with an idea and we can write a scene together, hire a sky writer and spell it out in the clouds – thought that one might be harder to see at night. πŸ˜›

Why: Why? Because we love you! In all seriousness, though, this is an idea that Alli and I have been kicking around for a while. It’s great fun, it stretches the brain, and getting your characters outside of their comfort zones (read: home stories) is a great way to get to know them. I wanted to do this during NaNo because I think it’ll be a really good way to overcome some of the speedbumps we all hit along the way. And, ya know, Rook is impatient. Once he heard we wanted to a drunken character get-together, well, he hasn’t shut up since.

So round up your characters and bring them out for a good time! I’ll probably kick things off with a bit between Rain and October – a little Meta, as she doesn’t actually know him yet, but he’s been really pushy ever since he introduced himself, so hopefully this will be enough to keep him happy til I can get all of Rain’s story caught up to him. πŸ™‚ If you have any questions, feel free to drop me a line! Look forward to seeing you all!

*Naturally, if you’d like to work with one of my characters, I ask that you do so through me rather than taking them on and writing them yourselves. They’re all fairly young characters, they’re not allowed to cross the street by themselves yet. πŸ˜›

15 thoughts on “NaNo Relief Drunken Character Bash

    • *nods* I know what you mean. I’m sooo unsure about doing this during NaNo. On the one hand, I can really see it unlocking some trouble spots. On the other hand, it’s like having a birthday party over Christmas vacation. Everyone would love to come, but they’re already got plans…

      *shrugs* We’ll see! If it tanks, I know Rook- he’ll just throw another one. πŸ˜›

      Like

      • If nothing else, there could be some fun character-conversation chains… Rain off in one direction, Bria Lana in another, their supporting cast shaking their heads and being confounded by them.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Character-oke! Rain and Seth | Raevenly Writes
  2. Pingback: Character-oke! Zig and Rain | Raevenly Writes
  3. Pingback: Character-oke! Seth and Naj | Raevenly Writes
  4. Pingback: Weekly Writing Goals: Nov, week 1 | Raevenly Writes
  5. Pingback: NaNo Writing Character Escape – Moments of Fun (1) | Eclectic Alli
  6. Pingback: Monday Night Character-oke! (part 1 of ???) | Raevenly Writes
  7. Pingback: Weekly Writing Goals: November week 2 | Raevenly Writes
  8. Pingback: NaNo Writing Character Escape: Making new friends | Eclectic Alli
  9. Pingback: Monday Night Character-oke! (part 1 of ???) | Raevenly Writes
  10. Pingback: Monday Night Character-oke! (part 3 of ???) | Raevenly Writes
  11. Pingback: NaNo Relief – Conversation time! | Eclectic Alli

Leave a Reply

