A bit about how Raevenly Writes

My writing buddy Eclectic Ali invited me to join this Writing Blog Hop. I’m pretty excited to be in on it, probably because the writing is going very well right now. It’s a good time of year for writing, if I do say so myself.

1) What am I working on/writing?

My main focus right now is finishing up the first edits on last year’s NaNo, so that I can write it’s sequel for this year’s NaNo. In addition to that, my partner and I have been working pretty steadily on Asylum, which will be released as a web-serial in (hopefully) the next year.

2) How does my work/writing differ from others of its genre?

Our stories are told from a myriad of view points, whether we’re working solo or together or on solo projects. Each story is a window into the lives of multiple characters, and each story is connected to the others, though how is not always clear at first.

3) Why do I write what I do?

I’ve often said, “I’m not a writer, I’m a reporter.” I write what I do because that’s what the characters show me. The world of Asylum calls to me, keeps me up at night and drives me nuts until I sit down to write.

4) How does my writing process work?

I really wish I knew. I sit down, I write, I look back over it and go “Whooooa… that happened.” Sometimes, characters will pester and distract me from whatever I was working on. A lot of the time, they’ll keep me company at work. Sometimes, I’ll just wake up and have a scene fully formed in my head.

It’s weird, but usually I can just sit down and write. It’s not always the story I wish I were working on, but I can almost always write. It’s pretty nice, actually. And when I can’t write, I don’t. There’s always editing to be done, or the occasional writing vacation. I highly recommend them. Not writing for a few days and coming back fresh is so much better than frustrating yourself and not getting any good writing done anyways.

And now the hard part. 😛 Writing is easy, tagging is hard. Lucky for me, you can run by and scream like a maniac while playing tag.

Tag! You’re it!!

Mishka from A Writer’s Life for Me

Olivia from Often Clueless, Always Shoeless

And Heather from Trials of a wanna-be published author

Have fun guys!

7 thoughts on “A bit about how Raevenly Writes

  1. Your characters do control you, don’t they? :-p Tell them to give you a break sometimes! 😉

    I love how you say that you are a reporter not a writer because I think that many writers are like that. The hard part is when you see it so clearly in your head but have such a hard time writing it out correctly. That’s what I usually save editing for, otherwise I’m going over and over in my head and then my brain freezes and the words just stop coming. Always fun. :-p

    And don’t forget those writing vacations! They are always handy, though I’m very glad that the writing is going so well write now! Sometimes it just pours out like a fountain. When the characters are dancing beautifully and the words are pouring out from your pen onto paper or fingers onto the computer, it is true magic. And you definitely have it! 🙂

    Hugs!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

