Weekly Writing Goals: June, week 4

This week has been HUGE for me. I had my first sessions with my first beta reader, and let me just say, it is an awesome and humbling and exhausting experience. The first time you give someone your work and say “These words that I’ve toiled and sweat and lost sleep over, what do they mean to you? I see the story in them, can you?”

Man. It’s just… man.

And then on top of all that high, you have a MOUNTAIN of feedback to sort through like a kid at Christmas- real, direct feedback and direction for what to do with your word pile. Bits and pieces of everything come together, connections are made, pieces fit-

or maybe I just got really lucky and have an awesome beta reader. ๐Ÿ˜›

So yeah, lots of progress on Rain’s story this week. Remarkably, now that I understand her better, I hate her a little less, so that’s a plus. By the time I’m done with the first round of edits, Rain might not be completely detestable. ๐Ÿ˜› I actually have a little hope from some agent or publisher reading my query and not burning it and running for the eye bleach. It might even be good enough to get some feedback as to why it’s not good enough to publish- so exciting!

…I’m so positive, aren’t I? ๐Ÿ˜›

And in the midst of all this, Miri and Jean’s story has really taken off, as well as taking some left turns I really didn’t see coming. Pretty cool though. I’m excited to see how this all works out. We’ve nearly double the page count in these past two weeks, so that’s cool too. And we’re creeping ever closer to the villain, who oh so sweetly informed me the other day that she had meant to kidnap Miri’s uncle, if he’d actually shown up for their rendezvous. Close on there, Leem!

So I realize this is less and less writing goals and more and more writing recaps. I know that all this progress is working towards my goals, but I imagine at this point you all have forgotten what they are, so let’s get back on track, shall we?

Rain’s story

Current Progress: COMPLETED! Undergoing it’s first round of edits.

Ultimate Goal: Publication, self or trad, but a legit book for sure. It’s not got the same structuring issues that make Asylum weblit

Setbacks: TITLE!!! Distracted by other projects at times. Don’t want to finish cause then I have to query it and that’s scary. ๐Ÿ˜›

Asylum

Current Progress: …halted, while I learn the fine art of editing on Rain’s story

Ultimate Goal: Web-serial, and rivaling fan clubs for Seth and Kain (maybe even Team shirts?)

Setbacks: can’t move forward, we’ve lost the characters mindsets, but don’t want to start editing it just yet, because… I’m scared?

Misc.

Current Progress: Miri’s story is BOOKIN’ IT towards its finish line, other side projects are more or less on halt

Ultimate Goal: more Web-lit probably, but maybe some traditional pub going on in there to, self or otherwise

Setbacks: well, there’s an EPIC CRAP TON of side projects, and a lot of them need us to progress Asylum first.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Goals: June, week 4

  1. Any kind of progress is still progress! Right?
    Oh, and I meant to say some time ago – if you still want some beta-readers, I’d be game ๐Ÿ™‚ Because, you know, I like to pile on side-projects….

    Like

Leave a Reply

