21 Harsh Truths from the Greats #19

19. Consistency is the last refuge of the unimaginative. – Oscar Wilde

Original Post

Oh gods I love this! To wander the gardens of Oscar Wilde’s mind…

*ahem* Back on task then.

I can’t help but think of “formula stories” when I read this. There is nothing wrong with a formula, but… I don’t think I could ever write one. It would bore me to tears.

Then again, I consider myself to be fairly imaginative.

But I wonder, is an imaginative story “better” than a formula one? I’m sure it’s all based on tastes and all that, but I do wonder…

 

5 thoughts on “21 Harsh Truths from the Greats #19

  1. I think it’s important to learn about story structure. One of the best ways to learn is by doing. You have to know what the rules are to make a conscious decision to break them. I think it’s a bit like modifying a recipe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

