21 Harsh Truths from the Greats #18

18. Start telling the stories that only you can tell, because there’ll always be better writers than you and there’ll always be smarter writers than you. There will always be people who are much better at doing this or doing that — but you are the only you. ― Neil Gaiman

Original Post

I actually really love that I came to this post today. I just finished telling a friend of mine all about the stories that inspired Asylum, and I’m all kinds of fired up. I want the whole world to know Seth and Naj and Nica and Kain, and Zig and Tripp and Jules and Remy, and Rain and Rook and Jon, and just all of it!

There’s a weird sort of issue in the back of my head, about how Asylum started out with me exploring a different author’s culture. It was fanfic, but it quickly grew out of that and into its own beast. The fanfic was the door, and the Universe poured out through it as soon as I opened it just a tiny crack.

Asylum almost wasn’t, because its fanfic roots were so discouraging – how could this wonderful world that came to life for me and is completely its own thing come from someone else?

But it doesn’t, not really. “Changing” the world wasn’t to make it less fanficy, it was to take of the training wheels that got me back into writing in the first place. I feel guilty for walking away for so long and making this beautiful wait for me, but I’m so glad it did.

2 thoughts on “21 Harsh Truths from the Greats #18

  1. Well, as long as we’re in a fired up mood, I just want to put out there that I am SO EXCITED for the day when I’ll actually get to buy this book and see all of these characters in their natural habitat. 🙂 It sounds like such a neat world with awesome people, and I’m really looking forward to curling up with it one day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

