Zero to Hero: Day 22, once more

Alright, I’ve got one. This time for sure! Third time is a charm, right? This week’s Daily Post challenge grabbed my attention, since listing is how I tend to chip away at writer’s block with my fiction. I’ll sit down and make a list of everything I know needs to happen, zooming in a little bit at a time until the next thing I know, I’ve finished that difficult scene.

Only trick is: how on earth do I do that for a blog post? The only things I really Β have to achieve with this post are:

  1. Start my list
  2. Add a point to my list.
  3. Add something else to my list.
  4. Add anything else I care to.
  5. Tuck in some last minute thoughts, and
  6. Finish the list
  7. Maybe also finish the post, I suppose.

Seems to simple, doesn’t it? And it’s a nice random number, 7, instead of like a top 10, or a 12 step program, or whatever. I like seven, it’s a good number. Other numbers I like are:

  1. 13
  2. 3
  3. 92
  4. 17
  5. 11
  6. 4
  7. 8

No real reasoning there, but there’s another 7 list for you. Now I”m kinda wondering if I could do 7 seven lists, but I’m not sure what seven things I might about. Well, why not? Let’s give it a shot:

  1. My list of things to do
  2. My favorite numbers
  3. My list of things to list (haha!)
  4. A list of things I need to do for my writing
  5. A list of chores I should be doing instead of blogging
  6. List of social media distractions I get into
  7. A list of seven random things that come to mind

Well then, that was easier than I thought it’d be. Three down, four to go, and I already know what they’ll be of. Let’s forge ahead, shall we? Alright, the writing list:

  1. Finish my first go through of Rain’s story
  2. Go over Rain’s story with Beta readers
  3. Time out, 2 should be get back in touch with my second reader, then go over things
  4. Finish my first go through of Asylum’s first book
  5. Repeat steps 2 and 3
  6. Get Asylum’s blog set up and ready for web-lit
  7. Get Asylum’s plot caught up to Spider’s plot so the other stories can go forward

Mmmk, productive! I like it. Ugh, time for the guilt trip- what should I be doing instead of making silly lists:

  1. Laundy, always
  2. dishes, also always
  3. Organize the craft room
  4. Clean the upstairs bathroom
  5. Oragnize/throw out crap in the garage
  6. Wash the sheets/make the bed
  7. …well crap. I can’t actually think of anything else I should do. Clean out the fridge maybe?

Aaaand instead of doing that, I’m more likely to hang out online and waste time on the following (probably in this order):

  1. Queue up some blog posts
  2. Queue up some Tumblr posts
  3. Look through someecards and booksrockmyworld on facebook
  4. Check my personal facebook for some more interesting things to follow with my author facebook
  5. Possibly tweet, but most likely not
  6. Re-re-check the Nyuesigrube boards to see if anyone else is talking about Bloodwitch yet
  7. Answer some emails

Alright! This was actually exceptionally easy once I’d made a list of lists – though I’m not sure if I’ve made any progress, or just of lists. Ah well. List of random things, GO!

  1. I like peanut butter, but only sometimes.
  2. Zig sometimes forgets to wear shorts under his bathrobe.
  3. This seriously disturbs his children at least once.
  4. Dolphins and porpoises are not as related as you’d think based on appearance.
  5. My girlfriend is entirely too obsessed with details.
  6. I want desperately to believe that Nyuesigrube is real, and that someday I’ll be kidnapped by vampires.
  7. It is harder to come up with truly random things than you’d think.

So basically, I feel like I just filled out one of those 100 random facts kinda questionnaires, and that’s about it. But I’m not ready to give up on lists, I’m just clearly distracted at the moment. Star Trek was on, and that’s always a little hard to write though. I liked the suggestion of listing what you can see/hear/taste/smell/feel at the moment – I think I may come back to that for scenes that aren’t coming to life like I want them to. Cait suggested that for when Rain first wakes up beneath the Early Bird- sensory details are WIN.

But that’s a post for another time. Right now, I’m ready to “turn in” this homework and finally, FINALLY get to finish Zero to Hero.

3 thoughts on “Zero to Hero: Day 22, once more

  1. Loved your list! It was fun to find out more about you. πŸ™‚

    With number 2 in your list of “Random Things” should that be that Zig wear’s shorts under this bathrobe, because if it’s not, then I am confused. πŸ˜‰

    And what do you mean by number 6 on the same list? I’m still looking for black roses, lol.

    Some suggestions for more random things:

    1. Bookbags or backpacks?

    2. Are you one of those authors that have to write in a certain space (your desk, Starbucks, library) or can you plunk down anywhere and write?

    3. If you could wear one color the rest of your life, who would it be?

    4. (Very important) Who do you consider to be your sexiest character? Yes, only one! (And if you’ve talked about them, that’s a bonus, cause then we can read about them!) πŸ™‚ I bet you can’t guess who mine is!

    Take care!

    Lili

    Like

    • Heh, oops. All fixed, and thanks. πŸ˜€

      1. I’ve called the bags I take to school by both names, if that’s what you mean.
      2. Not only can I write anywhere, I kinda have to mix it up to get anything done. Even if it’s as simple as moving to a different part of the couch, when I write too much in one space, I just get burnt out. I usually rotate between my living room and Purdy’s (which where I am now, and which is where most of Asylum and Rain’s story were written).

      Bonus fact: I seem to need to be in a place that sells coffee to write while I’m out. Cait and I have tried writing at McAllister’s and it never seems to work. But Starbucks, Panera, Purdy’s and Third Street Stuff are all fine.

      3. Black πŸ˜› Or Blue, if I get to pick shades. I look reeeeeally good in light teal when I’m all tanned up for the summer, but I love rich, dark blues too. Or burgundy, if I only get to pick one shade of one color.

      4. Kain, because he cheats.

      No seriously, he cheats.

      No, I can’t say why. Spoilers.

      However, Seth is quite yummy, and easily in the top 5.

      Like

Leave a Reply

