Daily Prompt: Raevenly Writings

Heee! How can I not love today’s Daily Prompt:

Some writers’ names have becomes adjectives: Kafkaesque, marxist, Orwellian, sadistic. If your name (or nickname, or blog name) were to become an adjective, what would it mean?

Although, technically speaking, Raevenly is an adverb, I suppose. But still, I love having an excuse to talk about this. 😛

Raevenly is actually a nickname my girlfriend gave me, but I like using it as a descriptor. Anyone that knows me personally would agree that my writing is very “raevenly”, though they might be hard pressed to describe it. I think it takes a certain sort of madness to understand – and the tie in to “Why is a raven like a writing desk?” just makes me all the happier.

If I were to suggest a standard definition for raevenly, it might be something like:

raevenly (adv.) characterized by a use of logic that is based on a false premise, logically illogical. Raevenly logic seems perfectly sound, if you accept the first premise to be true, but in classic Raevenly logic, the first assumption is typically outlandish and ridiculous. The arguments that build upon that premise are reasonable and difficult to counter, making it difficult to remember that the starting point is completely false.

 

This is why my girlfriend hates getting into debates with me. Save, I put forward the grass is blue. I back this up with the fact that a lot of open earth is covered in grass, and open ocean and open sky are blue. Therefor, grass is blue. Because blue is the widest wavelength of light, so wide open spaces must be blue.

Only nothing so obvious and mundane as all that. 😛

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Raevenly Writings

  1. Pingback: Daily prompt: Adjectives | The Wandering Poet
  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: A Name for Yourself – Long live Angloswisslogical | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  3. Pingback: “Not at all like Henry James” | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

Leave a Reply

