Editing: Killing your darlings

 

 

I seem to have found a darling that needs killing.

I’m a world builder, through and through. I write to understand all the stupid things that go on in the background (and often have little to do with the plot). So when I started writing Rain, of course I needed to know what happened to her dad.

She’d wondered at first if it was her way of acting out, these crazy voices in her head telling her about their deaths. Or if she was trying to replace the friends she’d estranged herself from. At one point, she was convinced that was it, that it was her valiant effort to work through the mess of growing up without a dad and blah blah blah. She’d even tried imagining his story, this crazy tale of a man that had died when she was very young, leaving her with a gift for hearing the dead…

She’d gotten absolutely nothing good out of it. Each word was a labor, an effort to see what came next and eventually she got frustrated and gave up.

This bit was originally meant to show that there was a difference between Rain’s unbidden characters and her deliberate efforts, and the little tidbit about her dad was a seed.

And it really has nothing to do with anything. Not really.

But I keep trying to so very hard to keep this bit in there. I don’t know why. I really doesn’t add a damned thing to the narrative, and it is beyond unimportant who Rain’s dad is and what happened to him. But I still want to keep it soooo bad.

That makes it a darling, no?

You can read the rest of Rain’s story here.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Editing: Killing your darlings

  1. Pingback: A few Updates | Entertaining Stories
    • Thanks. I like it, I just don’t know that it goes with the flow of the story. But you can bet if I can keep it, I will. I’m one of those readers that likes to try and figure out as much as I can, and a hint like that would drive me wild if I were reading it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

