#WeNeedDiverseBooks campaign

A little late to the party here, but better late than never, am I right?

#weneeddiversebooks

#weneeddiversebooks

We need diverse books because we need a diverse planet. Just like any ecosystem, the literary world needs all our stories to survive. To thrive. We all have a story to tell, and we all have stories we need to hear. Those stories are not the same for everyone, because everyone is not the same.

There are not words for how thrilled I am that this movement is a thing. When he was very little, my brother once asked my mother what a Mexican was, and if he was, and what made him one – like kids do. She didn’t have a good answer. Go Diego Go is not a good enough answer. My little sister just came out a few weeks ago, and she needs somewhere to turn for a sense of “I’m ok. I’m not the only one going through this. I’m not alone.” All of my stories need diverse books so that their judged for their merit, not their cover art. I need diverse books because I almost left my girlfriend, the absolute love of my life, as a teenager because I just didn’t believe it was ok for me to like girls. That it was a phase, and I’d outgrow it, and if I really loved her I wouldn’t ruin her life by being selfish and I would let her go. Because I didn’t know any better. Because nothing and no one had ever said otherwise.

We need diverse books because we are diverse people, and those differences make the world go round.

One thought on “#WeNeedDiverseBooks campaign

Leave a Reply

