Editing Day 2: the Reckoning

Ouch. I was feeling pretty good about things when I edited Chapter 1 yesterday, but Chapter 2 has knocked me right back into the dust were I belong. Pretty much the whole thing needs to be re-written. The first draft was good for sorting out a generalized outline sort of what happens when, but as far as narrative goes, it’s all unconnected, uninteresting, contradictory shit.

There, I said it. It’s shit.

I feel better now. πŸ˜›

Girlfriend has taken the typo mop all the way through Chapter 4, and has made some truly wonderful comments on it all, but sadly, most of the comments are on sentences I’m going to completely re-write. Granted, those re-writes will be partially because of her comments, but a lot of it is because I filled Chapter 2 with things that really needed to be addressed in Chapter 1. Or, in my rush to get all the plot down, I glossed over supremely important details that need to be filled in now, and so will alter the following events ever so slightly. It’s all a nasty domino effect that I don’t mind exactly, but my gods, day 2 of edits is not leaving me feeling anywhere near as accomplished as day 1 did.

But, somehow, I actually feel better about writing in general, after seeing what a glorious mess these first chapters are. I feel good, because I know I’m capable of hammering out a story, letting my first draft completely suck so that I can wade in without reservation and get to know the people, places and events of this story without getting hung up on being perfect. I’m happy to know I can let myself make mistakes in the name of discovery, and I’m even more happy to know that I recognize bad writing when I see it. I can see, very clearly, where things need to be fixed, and that’s surprisingly heartening.

Aaaaand now my whine at the Internet break is over and I have to get back to work. πŸ˜›

You can read the rest of Rain’s story here.

4 thoughts on “Editing Day 2: the Reckoning

  1. If it makes you feel any better, my novel (getting pretty close to polished) is currently saved as Hooligans 11 (meaning 11 drafts haha). I’ve gone through and done pretty substantial changes each time. For me writing is more like sculpting. It’s really rough and weird the first time, may not make sense, but then with each successive re-read, it gets closer and closer to my goal, my finished product (which I don’t totally know what it is until it’s done lol). Keep at it and happy writing!

    Like

    • I’m starting to see that. πŸ™‚ It’s funny, when I was writing it, I knew it need some work, but I didn’t know it was this bad. Well, not bad, but… lets just say clarity is a real issue.

      Like

      • It’s so hard to be able to judge your own work, especially for clarity. We made up the entire world of our story, it’s always clear in our head πŸ˜› That’s why good readers are so awesome! And wait…. aren’t you supposed to be getting off here :P:P Happy writing!

        Like

Leave a Reply

