Writers can never take vacations

Saw this on my Facebook feed this morning.

20140429-102928.jpg

How perfectly true.

Even while on my deathbed, I was still thinking constantly about how the last few scenes of my NaNo would play out, and was I well enough to write yet? The answer was always No, not quite, but my gods I must have put my hand to those keys a million times this weekend- then realized my joints all still ached from fever and I promptly put the laptop back down.

Thank god for queuing up posts in advance? πŸ˜›

Doing much better today. I’m coughing up stuff even the cat wouldn’t drag in, but I’m glad to be getting it out, at least.

6 thoughts on “Writers can never take vacations

  1. I hope you feel better quickly so you can get back at it. The part where you are well enough to get restless but you still aren’t well enough to do anything about it is definitely the worst

    Like

  2. I definitely agree with what naomiharvey says. It is awful when you have all these ideas brewing and can’t type them out.
    Maybe you can dictate and girlfriend can write/type for you?
    Remember-J.K. Rowling didn’t have pen and paper on her when Harry Potter decided to walk into her head and she was stuck on a train. She wrote one of the greatest series ever. (IMO) Maybe this is a whole process where everything will roll around your brain for awhile and then when your healthy and start writing again–everything will burst forth in a dazzling array of words and gorgeousness! You’ve had plenty of time to mull everything over, at least. Hope you feel better very soon.
    Or tell your characters to start helping you and start typing themselves! πŸ™‚ Crack that whip!
    Or, no, don’t do that. Seth would probably like it too much. πŸ˜‰
    -Lili

    Like

  3. I have read several of your posts and find I really enjoy them. I hope you feel better soon. I am also nominating your for the Leibster award. I didn’t list you originally, but was having trouble keeping track of who I wanted to nominate. So I am just going along and posting a link to the questions I have for the people I did list. I hope you enjoy it and don’t mind my partial senility.
    http://pavanneh.com/2014/04/29/i-changed-my-blog-theme-my-leibster-award-nominees-and-questions

    Like

Leave a Reply

