Zero to Hero: Day 8, behind the scenes, take II

Alright, last time on ZtH BtS, I’d hit a rut. I posted for help on the Commons (which was the first time I’d really used that, but I’m glad I did) and I got some good feed back. I’m pretty sure I was over thinking the whole “About Me” concept, and just got a little too zoomed in.

Some notable feedback:

  • Good enticement for the blog, but not enough about Me
  • “Adventure blog” was a good hook that got someone wanting to know more
  • Go do some chores, it’ll help you think (it did, thanks.)

So armed with that, I’m ready to tackle this beast again.

One of the issues I have with my own About Page is how I’ve split it up into two different pages. I kinda like it that way – I like having a “landing pad” for about me questions, and further reading for anyone who reeeeally wants to know more about me, but I am concerned about the confuse that might cause. I want my “landing pad” to be the first place people go, because that’s what I’ve polished to a glossy shine. The rest of it is interesting, but I don’t think it will get the point across as to why you really ought to read this blog. So, some more bullet pointing to organize my thoughts.

  • Whatever is labeled “About” HAS to be the landing pad. That is the signal everyone is accustomed to following to find the information you want them to see that you think of as “landing pad” So About = Landing pad, the end.
  • Further about/FAQ might be a good label for it, or More about or something. But make it visually clear that it’s something else. Maybe “More about Me/the blog/Asylum/Life/The Universe/Everything” – too long?
  • Am I horribly opposed to putting the Further about info on the landing pad? Find a way to make Landing pad stand out visually, and you should be set.

So, thoughts. Good thoughts. Organized thoughts, which is crucial. So, onward.

At the risk of getting mired down in the About me swamp again, I’m going to skip straight to the unfinished part of this assignment before I go any further. Having an About me Widget is a great idea, as its another place to put the landing pad info to make sure it gets seen (…I am so hopped up on cold meds, I typed “scene” first y’all. Even sick I know that’s not right. Oi. Live-in editor is gonna have a field day with this one.) So, let’s copy/paste what’s on my landing pad now and take it apart to make it bigger smaller, faster, stronger- We have that technology!

 

Hello! Welcome to Raevenly Writes!

Raevenly Writes is a writing blog, and an adventure blog. As a new blogger, I like to explore the platform as much as I like exploring the fictional worlds I write about. Here, you’ll find tips and tricks I’ve collected from around the Internet, as well as my own thoughts on blogging and self-publishing (though currently more of the former than the latter). I’ll also post snippets of the fiction I’m working on, from sketches and character bios, to world/character building techniques I use, as well as actual excerpts and outtake scenes from the Asylum and other stories in the Asylum/Havenverse. I tend to keep a pretty heavy posting schedule, daily or near-daily, with certain features coming out on regularly scheduled days. For more info, check out my Updates page and About page, as well as the New Readers page to help you get started.

I love to hear from my readers, so feel free to leave a comment or email me directly. I’m always looking for new blogs to follow or websites to check out and pass on to everyone. Also, if there’s any character you’d like here more from, feel free to write them directly as well! Seth in particular loves answering fanmail, vain thing that he is.

 

Now, we kill it with fire! Or rather, strike outs.

Hello! Welcome to Raevenly Writes!Duh, you know where you are 😛

Raevenly Writes is a writing blog, and an adventure blog. This. This apparently is gold. This stays, and stays as the leader. As a new blogger, I like to explore the platform as much as I like exploring the fictional worlds I write about. Here, you’ll find tips and tricks I’ve collected from around the Internet, as well as my own thoughts on blogging and self-publishing (though currently more of the former than the latter). I’ll also post snippets of the fiction I’m working on, from sketches and character bios, to world/character building techniques I use, as well as actual excerpts and outtake scenes from the Asylum and other stories in the Asylum/Havenverse.No need to go into loving detail about the snippets in a blurb. Space is a premium. I tend to keep a pretty heavy posting schedule, daily or near-daily, with certain features coming out on regularly scheduled days.Please follow me cause I post all the time – good info for expanded about, but not needed for a blurb For more info, check out my Updates page and About page, as well as the New Readers page to help you get started. Clicky enticer, not needed for blurb/widget

I love to hear from my readers, so feel free to leave a comment or email me directly. I’m always looking for new blogs to follow or websites to check out and pass on to everyone. Also, if there’s any character you’d like here more from, feel free to write them directly as well! Seth in particular loves answering fanmail, vain thing that he is.Comment/feedback enticer, not needed for a blurb/widget.

I actually started from the bottom and worked my way up, because I knew the stuff at the end was interaction enticers, not important for the quick looky look. And, if I’d done this right, the About would be Front Loaded, so my best stuff would be at the beginning anyways. So this is a great double exercise- I can get my widget blurb, and double check my work. If something isn’t struck out but is separate from the rest, it probably needs to be moved up in the text, to grab people quickly. So far, so good.

Once I had the main points, time to trim the fat:

Raevenly Writes is a writing blog, and an adventure blog. This. This apparently is gold. This stays, and stays as the leader. As a new blogger, I like to explore the platform as much as I like exploring the fictional worlds I write about. Soooooo wordy! Condense that! Exploring what? Here you’ll find tips and tricks I’ve collected from around the Internet, as well as my own thoughts on blogging and self-publishing (though currently more of the former than the latter)Then talk about it more later, when it’s relevant. I’ll also post snippets of the fiction I’m working onOverly wordy for a blurb, try “WIP excerpts”. Exploring what, short and sweet: FictionWIP, blogs, tips and tricks

What a mess! But its VERY distilled, and gives me some seriously laser focus to work with. I know I want to build on the “adventure blog” thing, since that got someone’s attention in a big way, so maybe run with an explorer theme?

Raevenly Writes is a writing blog, and an adventure blog, exploring writing tips and tricks collected from the far corners of the blogosphere, and WIP excerpts from projects closer to home. 

Now the blurb has a theme/voice, playing up on the “writing is an adventure” idea without beating the reader over the head with the concept (too badly). I like this, so instead of risking teh doubt swamps again, this is good enough for now (Always allow yourself “good enough” moments. The future is full of editing possibilities, so let yourself have a good enough present sometimes if you need it.).

So, back to the assignment, so I know what the heck I’m doing.

Once you’re happy with your About page, distill it into one or two sentences and add them to a text widget at the top of your sidebar — shoot for the widget to have no more than 10 lines. Now, readers can learn more about you without a single click.

One very long, very comma spliced sentence, check. No going back now doubts- if someone doesn’t read you because your blurb is super comma’d, let ’em move on by. You’re done for the day, no swamps for you.

If you’re having trouble making it short and sweet, ask yourself: if a total stranger found my blog and only remembered one thing about it, what would I want that to be? You can also add a link to the full page at the end of your short description with some simple HTML.

WRITING. I CAN GO HERE FOR WRITING. Check, I’d say. Now then, html you say? A sure fire way to make sure people head to the landing pad? Yeessssssssss. Wait, I don’t know HTML (a fact I VERY much want to correct).

For a closer look at text widgets and some “About” examples, check out this post. For the basics on creating a new page, use these instructions.

Excellent! Good thing I kept the original post open all these days. No, I do not have a problem, why do you ask o.O

So it’s off to HTML class for me, then a simple widget, then reorganizing what I want to do with my About/second about mess. But this is progress for now, so for today I pat myself on the back and says “Hooray! You did something. It’s not perfect, but it’s a word pile, and word piles can always be edited.”

Happy writing everyone. 🙂

-R

Leave a Reply

