Easter brunch, part II

 

 

The Easter Bunny has hatched

The Easter Bunny has hatched

Lady I dyed Easter eggs this afternoon, cause why the hell not? We’re grown ups, we can do what we want. That includes dying Easter eggs in our fancy cocktail glasses.

IMG_1944

Fancy.

I’m not gonna lie, I kinda wanted to add some Kool-aid to all this so it would smell like Happy Hour too. It didn’t help the tablets were all fizzy and such.

Tipsy.

Tipsy.

Probably better that no actual drinking went on. I got enough on the table as it is. Putting down trash bags is for babies. πŸ˜›

It didn’t take long for the cats to get interested, get in the way, and lose interest again, like cats do.

Weiss helped (himself, to the unattended oil).

Weiss helped (himself, to the unattended oil).

We used this really cool technique, where you mix oil into the dye baths and spin it around to get a tie-dyed look. Totally messy, totally worth it. These are the coolest eggs I’ve ever dyed.

Viola!

Viola!

Also, since I got a little enthusiastic with the spinning process, several of the eggs cracked mid-dye, leaving us with eggs that were beautiful inside and out.

Guess which ones were mine?

Guess which ones were mine?

However, that was the end of my usefulness. There’s a reason I’m not allowed to peel eggs.

yeah....

yeah….

I relinquished control of the eggs to girlfriend, and did the adult thing and washed the dishes.

 

Yup. Totally being responsible right now. Not playing around at all.

Yup. Totally being responsible right now. Not playing around at all.

When being a grown up stopped being fun, I spent an hour uploading egg photos to my other blog. Check ’em, some are really stunning. Mostly Cait’s πŸ˜›

Happy Easter Everyone!

3 thoughts on “Easter brunch, part II

  1. The eggs are beautiful! πŸ™‚ True works of art. I love the bluish, pinkish striped one. Weiss also has that wonderful cat face, “What is this? I’m going to sniff and pretend I’m not interested.” Tee-hee.

    I also suck at peeling eggs. I just do. I get impatient so they turn out all grossified.

    Happy Easter! Thanks for the pretty pictures!

    -Lili

    Like

    • I had soooo much fun with the oil effects – striping included. If you spin the eggs fast enough, they’ll make a band of protection so you get stripes.

      Honestly, this process is a lot like how real bird eggs get pigmented…

      Like

  2. Pingback: Camp NaNo, April: Day 19-22 | Raevenly Writes

Leave a Reply

