Neil Gaiman’s Journal: Entitlement issues…

Yesterday, girlfriend read me a lovely little post from Neil Gaiman’s Journal: Entitlement issues…. Someone asked Neil about an author’s obligation to the readers when they write a series. The whole was wonderful, but this bit particularly jumped out at me.

For me, I would rather read a good book, from a contented author. I don’t really care what it takes to produce that.

Some writers need a while to charge their batteries, and then write their books very rapidly. Some writers write a page or so every day, rain or shine. Some writers run out of steam, and need to do whatever it is they happen to do until they’re ready to write again. Sometimes writers haven’t quite got the next book in a series ready in their heads, but they have something else all ready instead, so they write the thing that’s ready to go, prompting cries of outrage from people who want to know why the author could possibly write Book X while the fans were waiting for Book Y.

And some of us do all of the above.

It’s dumb, but getting validation of my quirkiness from “one of the Greats” just helps me relax. I feel allowed to write what I do the way I do, because someone who is already winning at the writing game says it’s ok. That make me silly, but I’ll take ammo to battle my doubt demons wherever I can find it.

2 thoughts on “Neil Gaiman’s Journal: Entitlement issues…

  1. The famous line in there about what George R. R. Martin *isn’t* is something I keep coming back to again and again when people begin talking about how (insert name of artist/actor/writing/whatever) needs to pay more attention to THEIR FANS! As a writer you have an obligation to write, and usually to write what you like–not slave away getting something published because Billy in Sarasota has started a website talking up how you’re too “good” for everyone now, and you need to finish your books because he’s WAITING! And I love Neil; there’s actually video on-line of him “brokering” a resolution between the person who wrote asking about GRRM (turns out he’s part of a two-man singing group that hits all the cons) and George himself, who walked out on stage during one of there performances at SSCC and smashed a guitar. One has to wonder if it was planned–or not . . .

    Like

Leave a Reply

