21 Harsh Truths from the Greats #6

6. You can’t wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club. ― Jack London

Again, I love knowing where some of these come from. I can completely see Jack London stalking inspiration.

I’m a little at a loss for exactly what it means, however. I totally get the not waiting part, it’s the going after it part. As best as I can tell, this is sort of the “Write anyways, about anything, nothing, everyday” kind of advice. I think this might be one those things that comes back to me in the right moment and it all becomes clear.

I hope, at that moment, that I am not wielding an actual club.

Original Post

3 thoughts on “21 Harsh Truths from the Greats #6

  1. You have to…club your inspiration over the head? Argh, I feel stupid! I usually get quotes like this!

    Go after your inspiration no matter what maybe? Club your inspiration over the head and drag it back to the mighty Fortress of Writing? I don’t know. Something. I’ll go after my inspiration with my Muse and she can create a lasso from her hair and whip it right out of the air as it’s trying to flee! Yeah!
    (Also, I wrote you an email in response to another post. So, if you haven’t yet, you can check it. Thanks for helping me!)

    -Lili

    Like

  2. You can’t wait for inspiration because it rarely comes to you. If you want to write, you have to walk up to inspiration and brain it with a club. You know Bam Bam from the Flintstones? Like that.

    Anyway…that’s what I took away from the quote. 😀

    Like

  3. Pingback: Tell Inspiration You aren’t Waiting Anymore! | Inky Tavern

Leave a Reply

