21 Harsh tips from the Greats #3

3. If you have any young friends who aspire to become writers, the second greatest favor you can do them is to present them with copies of The Elements of Style. The first greatest, of course, is to shoot them now, while they’re happy. – Dorothy Parker

I’ve never read Elements, though now I really want to (links to follow for anyone who’s lost). However, I can COMPLETELY agree with the shoot them now comment. Don’t get me wrong, the dead time after undergrad tried to kill my dreams of writing were some of the worst of my life, but I think that’s because by then, it was already too late. I’d been writing since some point in elementary school, and my brief stint of “Give this up and get a real job” came too late to save from becoming a writer. It had already happened. Now that I’m addicted to this cocaine, I can’t imagine giving it up, but boy, there are days I certainly want to.

Links for The Elements of Style:

The wiki

A buy it link

Original post

Leave a Reply

