Why I NaNo, the good and the bad

I get really talkative during NaNo events. It’s silly, but the pure and simple fact is: it gives me something to blog about every day. Even if it’s just a simple “I didn’t have time to do anything today”, it’s still a talking point.

I’m so on the fence about NaNo. From a pure writing perspective, I don’t like it one bit. I hated the “sprinting” style, I got burned out in week three SOOO bad and I even think I kinda hate Rain partially because of it. But from a community and socializing standpoint, it’s done a lot for me. I wouldn’t have started this blog without it. I wouldn’t have made contact with all you lovely people. I wouldn’t believe in my ability to keep writing even when it stops being fun, and I wouldn’t be anywhere near as active online.

As melodramatic as it is to say, I probably wouldn’t have let myself believe that I could really be a writer if I hadn’t done NaNo last year.

So even though, from the purely writing aspect, I kinda hate NaNoWriMo, I will still take part in the events for everything else I get out of it. The trick is to know your weaknesses. The actual writing isn’t one of mine, but there’s something else NaNo makes strong for me that I haven’t found the label for just yet.

I don’t know what to call it, but I’m glad to have discovered it. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Why I NaNo, the good and the bad

  1. Even if you can’t get the writing done, it sounds as if it was definitely wroth doing for all the positive that came out of it. And, in the end, that’s what it’s all about, right? Finding fun and joy in everything we do! 🙂

    Like

    • Getting the writing done has never been a problem for me. That’s why I’m so on the fence about Nano. I actually get less writing done when I NaNo because I get caught up in the other parts- but those are the parts I’ve always had trouble with.

      I’ll always write, but Sharing what I write is new territory for me. I’m glad to be doing it, but I don’t think I would without the common ground of NaNo projects.

      Like

Leave a Reply

